Get out!

I really fell off the train of momentum this weekend for the Slice of Life commitment because of report cards and extra work that got piled on. So here I am, dusting off my knees and placing one foot in front of the other again.

Last Friday night, I went to see the movie Get out, by Jordan and Peele.  It is an incredibly powerful film and I highly recommend that you all see it, so I will try to not include too many spoilers in this blog post.  It is essentially a horror movie about a Black guy from New York City going to visit his White girlfriend’s family for the first time.  There is some comedy mixed in with the suspense and horror, which is good, because the dose of realism in the movie can be intense.

Luckily, I went to see it with some friends and we went out for (ginger) beer to process it afterwords.  There are exaggerations of racism in the movie, but there are also plenty of examples of the micro-aggressions / everyday racism as well.  The symbolism is complex and  deep, and we made much more sense of it by talking through it together.  Mostly, however, I left with a heavy weight in my stomach and a sick unease.  This movie is an opportunity for White America to take a look in the dark mirror of our diseased culture of superiority.  I have heard that this is a box office hit, and wonder whether most White people will watch it and think, “That’s not me – those are some racist White people, for real!”  And how many will pause to allow honesty about the ways this depiction permeates our DNA, as a historic entitlement to judge, harm and use Black bodies for our benefit.

3 thoughts on “Get out!

  1. Wow! I have not heard of this movie and certainly am not used to choosing horror movies, but maybe now I will. I’ve been reading John Lewis’ March books thinking similar thoughts. I feel like we need some kind of community forum to hash all this out. It was nice to hear your thoughts.

    Like

  2. This movie is on my radar, and your description encourages me to move it closer to the top of the must-see list. Sounds like this is a horror flick that’s dealing in a different sort of “sick unease.” Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Like

  3. It’s so hard for us to see and admit that we are a part of the problem–it’s easier to think of it as “those people” who are racist rather to look internally and start to work on the racism inherent within us. Thank you for reminding me of this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

