Fortitude and heart

WHACK! A student was walking with his extra-long landing strip (his sculpture made of wood) and rammed it into the cheek of another student (I’ll call her Kay) as he turned to walk away.  Luckily it missed her eye and will hopefully just leave a small bruise.  He felt terrible and apologized profusely, saying it was an accident and that he knew it must hurt a lot.  I imagined it might happen at some point this week, but was trying my best to shepherd kids closely so that their dangerously rough and pointy sculptures would make it to and from the tables with minimal cross traffic.

Kay returned to her table, got her sculpture and came to show it to me to say that she was having a problem.  The slide she had added to the top of her wooden ladder kept falling off.  She had cut apart an aluminum foil box and tried to fold it and glue it to the wood. I said, “Let’s go problem solve that at the table.”  I started walking back to the table and she tried to run around me, but tripped on my feet.  SPLAT! CRACK! The four pieces of wood that were glued together flew in different directions.

A crowd gathered around her to offer her condolences and I gave her a hug.  “What a disappointment that must be! No worries, we will get it back together in no time.”  Everyone around her reassured her that yes, she would be able to fix it.  She gathered the pieces and within minutes had it pieced together.  She also solved the problem of the slide without my assistance.

Kay has needed extra support around behavior and social skills so far in Kindergarten.  We send a note home daily to let her parents know how she does. On my way home today, I realized how grateful I was for her resilience and flexibility with both setbacks. Also, I was grateful for the compassion that the others showed her.  I forgot to communicate my appreciation for all of those things today, so it’s top of the list for tomorrow’s breakfast check-ins.

IMG_9794

5 thoughts on “Fortitude and heart

  1. This is such a great example of the way you lead your class and the kind of environment you have established. This made me miss having my own classroom and being able to tell the stories of our amazing little humans!

    Like

  2. I was so worried how Kay would react when she tripped and broke her sculpture, but then so proud of her for picking up the pieces and starting over. I love to hear how students grow over the year 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

