Arising

underground plants

Yesterday, I read a very inspiring interview with a man from Ireland about his work for peace and healing there. There were dozens of parts of his interview that have me reeling with YES. One talked about finding that he was a stranger in his own land in some ways after returning from travels in other countries, and his realization that the challenge is to greet each new moment as a stranger.  He also talks about how it’s not important to agree with our lovers and family members.  What is important is captured in the phrase:

“the argument of being alive.” Or in Irish, when you talk about trust, there’s a beautiful phrase from West Kerry where you say, “Mo sheasamh ort lá na choise tinne,” “You are the place where I stand on the day when my feet are sore.”

Sometimes the guidance of deep wisdom comes and we can’t see it or use it, but I was floored yesterday when I read the interview.  I felt like a train had appeared out of nowhere, and I was solidly sitting in a seat before I knew it, released from a storm of emotion. As the Buddha talks about, perception is like a banana tree.  You chop it down and it’s empty inside.

I also have this song stuck in my head, about “Home” being whereever I’m with you (bittersweet in that the singer in the song is dedicating the song to his mother who was deported). As each new experience arises, I hope to greet it with curiosity.  I hope to remember the deep network of trust underground that connects me to those I love, and hold space in our above-ground growth for distance, difference and discomfort.

5 thoughts on “Arising

  1. This is truly a beautiful piece of thought and writing. I will keep your images in my mind. You make us think about the challenges of being with people we don’t understand or agree with, but finding the solace of living together. I love how you discover your words of wisdom from such a variety of sources.

    Like

  2. Again your choice of words is so powerful. I especially like the line, ” I felt like a train had appeared out of nowhere, and I was solidly sitting in a seat before I knew it, released from a storm of emotion.”

    Like

  3. Such a great perspective on living with those you love but don’t always agree with. I like the saying “you are the place I stand when my feet are sore.” You create a powerful ending by expressing your hopes using the same imagery as the examples of wisdom from earlier in the piece.

    Like

Leave a Reply

