Return

The flush of spring erupted for me today.

This morning I jogged 3.5 miles at the gym, which is the farthest I’ve run in a long time.  After about 1.5 miles, the adrenaline gushed down into my legs and they felt light and alive, with ganas. For the rest of the day I have felt the tingling, satiated sensation of veins full of blood, radiating warmth.  I felt younger, hungrier, bouncier.

This afternoon, sunshine blanketed everything. As I walked the dog, I closed my eyes and gulped it down like long sought water.  He gave me that goofy smile as wide as his face as I threw the ball for him. Each time he returned, prancing like a little clown.

As we headed inside, I noticed that a new batch of crocuses must have just bloomed in my front yard, growing so tightly together they looked like a bouquet.  As I got nearer, a bee flew up near my face. I watched it find another batch of flowers and then saw that there were dozens of them, fuzzy bodies gently lifting and descending into yellow powder.

Even though I was going to be late for an appointment, I turned in slow circles for a few extra minutes, arms outstretched.  Welcome back, Spring wonders, welcome back!

new-slicer-badge

11 thoughts on “Return

  1. awesome! this winter is almost over ! i am waiting until i can do exactly what you just did – it is close to being that warm here in washington but it just keeps raining! Enjoy those beautiful flowers!!!

    Like

  2. Lovely! Where do you live? We have SNOW here and more coming! I love the way you wrote, ‘This afternoon, sunshine blanketed everything. As I walked the dog, I closed my eyes and gulped it down like long sought water.” Beautiful imagery.

    Like

  3. In Maine, our springs are something nonexistent. I am jealous….we are bracing for another big storm on the coast. Today it is something like a -22 degree wind chill. I love dreaming through your flowery, springy photos.

    Like

  4. Spring, such a beautiful time of the year and my favorite. Your words here about running, playing with the dog, the crocuses and bees are just beautiful. Really, they touched my heart.

    Warmly,
    Denise

    Like

  5. Your joy in spring’s return is so tangible, and the pic of the crocuses and bees is beautiful. Loved your voice in this peace: “I turned in slow circles for a few extra minutes, arms outstretched.”

    Like

  6. I think spring is my favorite season in the Northwest because it comes after the long gray winter, promising better things to come. Your description of the bees “lifting and descending into yellow powder” so precisely captures their movements!

    Like

Leave a Reply

